Shortlist The Citizenship Award Diane Law-Crookes Lisa Hodge, Sarah Morton, The Collaboration Award

Download (0)

Full text


Published on Civil Service Awards 2020 | Prestigious cross-government programme to recognise the wealth of inspirational individuals (

Home > Shortlist


The Citizenship Award

Recognising exceptional individuals who go way beyond what could reasonably be expected of them, to improve the lives of citizens or communities. Their contributions could be in the workplace, or as volunteers outside work, or both. The shortlisted nominees are:

• Diane Law-Crookes, Ministry of Defence • Lisa Hodge, Ministry of Defence

• Sarah Morton, Department for Work and Pensions

The Collaboration Award

Recognising excellent collaboration that spans the

boundaries between sectors, administrations, or layers of government. The shortlisted nominees are:

• National Volunteer Prescription Delivery Scheme

(Wales), Welsh Government

• PPE Portal Team, Department of Health and Social Care • Shielding, Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

The Commercial Award

Recognising exemplary commercial skill and sound business judgement in delivering an exceptional outcome, with value for money for government. The shortlisted nominees are: • Complex Transactions Team - Covid-19 Response, Cabinet Office

• Covid-19 Emergency Measures in Rail Franchising

Contracts, Department for Transport

• Energy Efficient Scotland National Delivery Scheme, Scottish Government


The Communication Award

Recognising exceptional performance by a communications team to deliver a highly effective national or international communications campaign. The shortlisted nominees are: • DHSC Communications and Marketing Team - 'Our

NHS' Allied Health Professions and Nursing

Recruitment Campaign, Department of Health and Social


• DVLA Vehicle Tax Evasion Campaign 2020, Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency

• National Resilience Hub, Covid-19 Communications

Response, Cabinet Office

The Developing People Award

Recognising excellence across all areas of learning, skills development, strengthening capability, and talent

management. The shortlisted nominees are:

• Civil Service Dyslexia and Dyspraxia Network, Cross-government

• DfT Commercial Development Programme, Department for Transport

• Inclusion Apprenticeship Programme, Department for International Development

The Digital, Data & Technology


Recognising excellence in the application of digital

technology to solve a problem or make things better; and celebrating people whose commitment to technological improvements reach measurable outcomes. The shortlisted nominees are:

• Digital Learning Division - Hwb EdTech Programme, Welsh Government

• Get Your State Pension, Department for Work and Pensions

• Scottish Government Design System, Scottish Government


The Diversity & Inclusion Award

This category is a winner of winners from the Civil Service Diversity & Inclusion Awards; an award that recognises real achievement and success at all levels of the Civil Service. Each of the shortlisted nominees are the winners of their individual D&I category, the nominees are:

• BAME Male Working Group and Race Network

Co-Chairs, Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

• Campaigns & Projects Leeds D&I Group, HM Revenue & Customs

• Civil Service Carers Network, Cross-government • Civil Service Fast Stream and Early Talent, Cross-government

• Civil Service LGBT+ Network, Cross-government • Civil Service Working Through Cancer Network, Cross-government

• Food Vulnerabilities Directorate, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

• Heather Wilson, Scottish Government

• Home Office Gender Equality Network (GEN), Home Office

• LGBTI Chile D&I Team, Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

• ONS Faith and Belief Network, Office for National Statistics

• Preeta Ramachandran, Mark Thompson and Aspire

Participants, Department for Work and Pensions

The Health & Wellbeing Award

Recognising people who have made a highly effective contribution to promoting or improving health and wellbeing within the Civil Service. The shortlisted nominees are: • Gillian Whitworth, Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

• Home Talk, Home Office

• Julie Slater, Defence Science and Technology Laboratory

The Innovation Award

Recognising the outstanding advancement or application innovation to improve policy, service delivery or public administration. The shortlisted nominees are:

• Accelerated Capability Environment (ACE), Home Office

• Say My Name, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

• The Analytics Academy - A coding course for

everyone at DfE (Jack Tattersall, James Lowe and Peter Fitzsimons), Department for Education


The Inspirational Leadership


Recognising individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, regardless of grade or role. The shortlisted nominees are:

• Chris Atkinson, Northern Ireland Office

• Chris Rampling, Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

• Kelsey Williams, Department for Education

The Policy & Use of Evidence


Recognising excellence in policy-making. The shortlisted nominees are:

• Behaviour, Insight and Research Team C19

Response, HM Revenue & Customs

• Childcare Team, Welsh Government

• GO-Science COVID SAGE Secretariat, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

The Project Delivery Excellence


Recognising outstanding contributions to the successful delivery of government projects. The shortlisted nominees are:

• Course Design Team - Foundation Medic Course, Ministry of Defence

• Nabeeha Ahmed, Ministry of Justice

• Virtual Machine Environment- Replacement

(Jobseekers Allowance), Department for Work and


The Public Service Award

Recognising exceptional service delivery. The shortlisted nominees are:


teams, Cross-government

• Non-Shielded Vulnerable People Project, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

• The UK-Japan Trade Agreement Negotiations Team, Department for International Trade


The Resilience & Rapid Response


Recognising excellence in crisis management, contingency planning, or major incident response. The shortlisted nominees are:

• MHCLG Rough Sleeping Covid-19 Taskforce, Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

• The China Network, Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

• The Isolation Note, DHSC (Alexander Peck), DWP

(Ailsa McGinty, David Long), NHSX (Diane Baynham), NHSD (James Higgott), Cross-government

The Rising Star Award

Recognising a civil servant who has made a significant impact within the first 8 years of their Civil Service career. The shortlisted nominees are:

• Abigail Agyei, Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

• Leanna Conradson, HM Courts & Tribunals Service • Sidonie Edey, Department for Work and Pensions

The Science Award

Recognising the outstanding advancement or application of science to improve policy, service delivery or public

administration. The shortlisted nominees are:

• Climate Change - Rapid Attribution Studies, Met Office

• International Travel Risk Assessment Team, Animal and Plant Health Agency

• Synthetic Data to Support MedTech

Innovation, Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory





Related subjects :