97. c $750,000 + [($1,200,000 – $960,000) × (20,000 ÷ 50,000)] = $846,000.
98. a $1,200,000 × (20,000 ÷ 50,000) = $480,000.
99. c $195,000, acquisition cost.
100. b $225,000, acquisition cost.
101. b $135,000, acquisition cost.
102. b $210,000 + ($75,000 × .3) – ($30,000 × .3) = $223,500.
103. c $600,000, acquisition cost.
104. c $600,000 + ($400,000 × .2) – ($100,000 × .2) = $660,000.
105. c $800,000 + ($600,000 × .3) – ($200,000 × .3) = $920,000.
106. b $600,000 × .3 = $180,000.
107. c $1,260,000 + ($800,000 × .6) – ($200,000 × .6) = $1,620,000.
108. b $720,000 + ($360,000 × .4) – ($120,000 × .4) = $816,000.
109. d $360,000 × .4 = $144,000.
110. b $30,000 + $70,000 – $20,000 = $80,000.
DERIVATIONS — CPA Adapted
No. Answer Derivation111. d $936,000 – $16,000 = $920,000
15
$920,000 –
(
$120,000 × —)
= $896,000.75
112. d $90,000 – $70,000 = $20,000.
113. c
114. d Conceptual.
115. c $240,000 × 30% = $72,000.
116. b $600,000 + $72,000 – ($150,000 × 30%) = $627,000.
DERIVATIONS — CPA Adapted (cont.)
No. Answer Derivation117. c $627,000 – ($90,000 × 30%) + ($300,000 × 50% × 30%) = $645,000.
$396,000 – ($645,000 ÷ 2) = $73,500.
118. a $960,000 – ($600,000 × 25%) + ($240,000 × 25%) = $870,000.
119. b $18,000 – $15,000 – $20,000 = $17,000 loss.
EXERCISES
Ex. 17-120—Investment in debt securities at premium.
On April 1, 2012, West Co. purchased $320,000 of 6% bonds for $332,600 plus accrued interest as an available-for-sale security. Interest is paid on July 1 and January 1 and the bonds mature on July 1, 2017.
Instructions
(a) Prepare the journal entry on April 1, 2012.
(b) The bonds are sold on November 1, 2013 at 103 plus accrued interest. Amortization was recorded when interest was received by the straight-line method (by months and round to the nearest dollar). Prepare all entries required to properly record the sale.
Solution 17-120
(a) Debt Investments ... 332,600 Interest Revenue ($320,000 × .06 × 1/4) ... 4,800
Cash ... 337,400
(b) Interest Revenue ($12,600 × 4 ÷ 63) ... 800
Debt Investments... 800
Cash ($320,000 × .06 × 1/3) ... 6,400
Interest Revenue ... 6,400
Cash... 329,600
Gain on Sale of Investments... 800 Debt Investments ... 328,800
$332,600 – [($12,600 ÷ 63) × 19]
Ex. 17-121—Investment in debt securities at a discount.
On May 1, 2012, Kirmer Corp. purchased $600,000 of 12% bonds, interest payable on January 1 and July 1, for $562,600 plus accrued interest. The bonds mature on January 1, 2018.
Amortization is recorded when interest is received by the straight-line method (by months and round to the nearest dollar). (Assume bonds are available for sale.)
Instructions
(a) Prepare the entry for May 1, 2012.
(b) The bonds are sold on August 1, 2013 for $565,000 plus accrued interest. Prepare all entries required to properly record the sale.
Solution 17-121
(a) Debt Investments ... 562,600 Interest Revenue ($600,000 × .12 × 4/12) ... 24,000
Cash ... 586,600
(b) Debt Investments ($37,400 ÷ 68 × 1)... 550
Interest Revenue ... 550
Cash ($600,000 × .12 × 1/12) ... 6,000
Interest Revenue ... 6,000
Cash... 565,000 Loss on Sale of Investments ... 5,850
Debt Investments ... 570,850
$562,600 + [($37,400 ÷ 68) × 15]
Ex. 17-122—Investments in equity securities.
Presented below are unrelated cases involving investments in equity securities.
Case I. The fair value of the trading securities at the end of last year was 30% below original cost, and this was properly reflected in the accounts. At the end of the current year, the fair value has increased to 20% above cost.
Case II. The fair value of an available-for-sale security has declined to less than forty percent of the original cost. The decline in value is considered to be other than temporary.
Case III. An equity security, whose fair value is now less than cost, is classified as trading but is reclassified as available-for-sale.
Instructions
Indicate the accounting required for each case separately.
Solution 17-122
Case I. At the end of last year, the company would have recognized an unrealized holding loss and recorded a Fair Value Adjustment (trading). At the end of the current year, the company would record an unrealized holding gain that would be reported in the other revenue and gains section. The adjustment account would now have a debit balance.
Solution 17-122 (cont.)
Case II. When the decline in value is considered to be other than temporary, the loss should be recognized as if it were realized and earnings will be reduced. The fair value becomes a new cost basis.
Case III. The security is transferred at fair value, which is the new cost basis of the security. The Equity Investments (available-for-sale) account is recorded at fair value, and the Unrealized Holding Loss—Income account is debited for the unrealized loss. The Equity Investments (trading) account is credited for cost.
Ex. 17-123—Investment in equity securities.
Agee Corp. acquired a 30% interest in Trent Co. on January 1, 2013, for $500,000. At that time, Trent had 1,000,000 shares of its $1 par common stock issued and outstanding. During 2013, Trent paid cash dividends of $160,000 and thereafter declared and issued a 5% common stock dividend when the fair value was $2 per share. Trent's net income for 2013 was $360,000. What is the balance in Agee’s equity investments account at the end of 2013?
Solution 17-123
Cost $500,000
Share of net income (.30 × $360,000) 108,000 Share of dividends (.30 × $160,000) (48,000) Balance in equity investments account $560,000
Ex. 17-124—Fair value and equity methods. (Essay)
Compare the fair value and equity methods of accounting for investments in stocks subsequent to acquisition.
Solution 17-124
Under the fair value method, investments are originally recorded at cost and are reported at fair value. Dividends are reported as other revenues and gains. Under the equity method, investments are originally recorded at cost. Subsequently, the investment account is adjusted for the investor's share of the investee's net income or loss and this amount is recognized in the income of the investor. Dividends received from the investee are reductions in the investment account.
Ex. 17-125—Fair value and equity methods.
Fill in the dollar changes caused in the Investment account and Dividend Revenue or Investment Revenue account by each of the following transactions, assuming Crane Company uses (a) the fair value method and (b) the equity method for accounting for its investments in Hudson Company.
(a) Fair Value Method (b) Equity Method
Investment Dividend Investment Investment
Transaction Account Revenue Account Revenue
———————————————————————————————————————————
1. At the beginning of Year 1, Crane bought 40% of Hudson's common stock at its book value. Total book value of all Hudson's common stock was $800,000 on this date.
———————————————————————————————————————————
2. During Year 1, Hudson reported $60,000 of net income and paid $30,000 of dividends.
———————————————————————————————————————————
3. During Year 2, Hudson reported $30,000 of net income and paid $40,000 of dividends.
———————————————————————————————————————————
4. During Year 3, Hudson reported a net loss of $10,000 and paid $5,000 of dividends.
———————————————————————————————————————————
5. Indicate the Year 3 ending balance in the Investment account, and cumulative totals for Years 1, 2, and 3 for dividend revenue and investment revenue.
———————————————————————————————————————————
Solution 17-125
(a) Fair Value Method (b) Equity Method
Investment Dividend Investment Investment
Transaction Account Revenue Account Revenue
———————————————————————————————————————————————
Ex. 17-126—Comprehensive income calculation.
The following information is available for Irwin Company for 2013:
Net Income $120,000
Realized gain on sale of available-for-sale securities 10,000 Unrealized holding gain arising during the period on
available-for-sale securities 29,000
Reclassification adjustment for gains included in net
income 8,000
Instructions
(1) Determine other comprehensive income for 2013.
(2) Compute comprehensive income for 2013.
Solution 17-126
(1) 2013 other comprehensive income = $31,000 ($10,000 realized gain + $29,000 unrealized holding gain – $8,000 reclassification adjustment).
(2) 2013 comprehensive income = $151,000 ($120,000 + $31,000).
*Ex. 17-127—Fair value hedge.
On January 2, 2013, Tylor Co. issued a 4-year, $750,000 note at 6% fixed interest, interest payable semiannually. Tylor now wants to change the note to a variable rate note. As a result, on January 2, 2013, Tylor Co. enters into an interest rate swap where it agrees to receive 6% fixed and pay LIBOR of 5.6% for the first 6 months on $750,000. At each 6-month period, the variable interest rate will be reset. The variable rate is reset to 6.6% on June 30, 2013.
Instructions
(a) Compute the net interest expense to be reported for this note and related swap transaction as of June 30, 2013.
(b) Compute the net interest expense to be reported for this note and related swap transaction as of December 31, 2013.
*Solution 17-127 (a) and (b)
6/30/13 12/31/13
Fixed-rate debt $750,000 $750,000
Fixed rate (6% ÷ 2) 3% 3%
Semiannual debt payment $ 22,500 $ 22,500
Swap fixed receipt 22,500 22,500
Net income effect $ 0 $ 0
Swap variable rate
5.6% × ½ × $750,000 $ 21,000
6.6% × ½ × $750,000 0 $ 24,750
Net interest expense $ 21,000 $ 24,750
*Ex. 17-128—Cash flow hedge.
On January 2, 2012, Sloan Company issued a 5-year, $6,000,000 note at LIBOR with interest paid annually. The variable rate is reset at the end of each year. The LIBOR rate for the first year is 6.8%
Sloan Company decides it prefers fixed-rate financing and wants to lock in a rate of 6%. As a result, Sloan enters into an interest rate swap to pay 7% fixed and receive LIBOR based on $8 million. The variable rate is reset to 7.4% on January 2, 2013.
Instructions
(a) Compute the net interest expense to be reported for this note and related swap transactions as of December 31, 2012.
(b) Compute the net interest expense to be reported for this note and related swap transactions as of December 31, 2013.
*Solution 17-128 (a) and (b)
12/31/12 12/31/13
Variable-rate debt $6,000,000 $6,000,000
Variable rate 6.8% 7.4%
Debt payment $ 408,000 $ 444,000
Debt payment $ 408,000 $ 444,000
Swap receive variable (408,000) (444,000)
Net income effect $ 0 $ 0
Swap payable—fixed 420,000 420,000
Net interest expense $ 420,000 $ 420,000
PROBLEMS
Pr. 17-129—Trading equity securities.
Korman Company has the following securities in its portfolio of trading securities on December 31, 2012:
Cost Fair Value 5,000 shares of Thomas Corp., Common $159,000 $139,000
10,000 shares of Gant, Common 182,000 190,000
$341,000 $329,000
All of the securities had been purchased in 2012. In 2013, Korman completed the following securities transactions:
March 1 Sold 5,000 shares of Thomas Corp., Common @ $31 less fees of $1,500.
April 1 Bought 600 shares of Werth Stores, Common @ $45 plus fees of $550.
Pr. 17-129 (cont.)
The Korman Company portfolio of trading securities appeared as follows on December 31, 2013:
Cost Fair Value
10,000 shares of Gant, Common $182,000 $195,500
600 shares of Werth Stores, Common 27,550 25,500 $209,550 $221,000
Instructions
Prepare the general journal entries for Korman Company for:
(a) the 2012 adjusting entry.
(b) the sale of the Thomas Corp. stock.
(c) the purchase of the Werth Stores' stock.
(d) the 2013 adjusting entry.
Solution 17-129
(a) 12-31-12
Unrealized Holding Gain or Loss—Income ... 12,000
Fair Value Adjustment (trading) ... 12,000 ($341,000 – $329,000)
(b) 3-1-13
Cash [(5,000 × $31) – $1,500]... 153,500 Loss on Sale of Investments ... 5,500
Equity Investments ... 159,000
(c) 4-1-13
Equity Investments ... 27,550
Cash [(600 × $45) + $550]... 27,550
(d) 12-31-13
Fair Value Adjustment (trading)... 23,450
Unrealized Holding Gain or Loss—Income... 23,450
Pr. 17-130—Trading equity securities.
Perez Company began operations in 2011. Since then, it has reported the following gains and losses for its investments in trading securities on the income statement:
2011 2012 2013 Gains (losses) from sale of trading securities $ 15,000 $(20,000) $ 14,000 Unrealized holding losses on valuation of trading securities (25,000) — (20,000) Unrealized holding gain on valuation of trading securities — 10,000 —
At January 1, 2014, Perez owned the following trading securities:
Cost
BKD Common (15,000 shares) $450,000
LRF Preferred (2,000 shares) 210,000
Drake Convertible bonds (100 bonds) 115,000
Pr. 17-130 (cont.)
During 2014, the following events occurred:
1. Sold 5,000 shares of BKD for $170,000.
2. Acquired 1,000 shares of Horton Common for $40 per share. Brokerage commissions totaled
$1,000.
At 12/31/14, the fair values for Perez's trading securities were:
BKD Common, $28 per share LRF Preferred, $110 per share Drake Bonds, $1,020 per bond Horton Common, $45 per share
Instructions
(a) Prepare a schedule which shows the balance in the Fair Value Adjustment (trading) account at December 31, 2013 (after the adjusting entry for 2013 is made).
(b) Prepare a schedule which shows the aggregate cost and fair values for Perez's trading securities portfolio at 12/31/14.
(c) Prepare the necessary adjusting entry based upon your analysis in (b) above.
Solution 17-130
(a) Balance 12/31/11 (result of that year's adjusting entry) $(25,000)
Deduct unrealized gain for 2012 10,000
Add: Unrealized loss for 2013 (20,000)
Balance at 12/31/13 $(35,000)
(b) Aggregate cost and fair value for trading securities at 12/31/14
Cost Fair Value
BKD Common 10,000 shares $300,000 $280,000
LRF Preferred 2,000 shares 210,000 220,000
Horton Common, 1,000 shares 41,000 45,000
Drake Bonds, 100 bonds 115,000 102,000
Total $666,000 $647,000
(c) Adjusting entry at 12/31/14:
Fair Value Adjustment (trading) ... 16,000
Unrealized Holding Gain or Loss—Income ... 16,000
(Balance at 1/1/14 $35,000
Balance needed at 12/31/14 19,000
Recovery $16,000)
Pr. 17-131—Available-for-sale equity securities.
During the course of your examination of the financial statements of Doppler Corporation for the year ended December 31, 2013, you found a new account, "Investments." Your examination revealed that during 2013, Doppler began a program of investments, and all investment-related transactions were entered in this account. Your analysis of this account for 2013 follows:
Doppler Corporation Analysis of Investments
For the Year Ended December 31, 2013
Date—2013 Debit Credit
(a) Harmon Company Common Stock
Feb. 14 Purchased 4,000 shares @ $55 per share. $220,000 July 26 Received 400 shares of Harmon Company common stock
as a stock dividend. (Memorandum entry in general ledger.) Sept. 28 Sold the 400 shares of Harmon Company common stock
received July 26 @ $65 per share. $26,000
(b)
Debit Credit Taber Inc., Common Stock
Apr. 30 Purchased 20,000 shares @ $40 per share. $800,000
Oct. 28 Received dividend of $1.20 per share. $24,000
Additional information:
1. The fair value for each security as of the 2013 date of each transaction follow:
Security Feb. 14 Apr. 30 July 26 Sept. 28 Dec. 31
Harmon Co. $55 $62 $70 $74
Taber Inc. $40 33
Doppler Corp. 25 28 30 33 35
2. All of the investments of Doppler are nominal in respect to percentage of ownership (5% or less).
3. Each investment is considered by Doppler’s management to be available-for-sale.
Instructions
(1) Prepare any necessary correcting journal entries related to investments (a) and (b).
(2) Prepare the entry, if necessary, to record the proper valuation of the available-for-sale equity security portfolio as of December 31, 2013.
Solution 17-131
(1) (a) Harmon — original purchase 4,000 shares stock dividend 400 shares total holding 4,400 shares
Total cost of $220,000 ÷ Total shares of 4,400 = $50 cost per share
Solution 17-131 (cont.)
Sold 100 shares Correct entry:
Cash (400 × $65) ... 26,000
Equity Investments ... 20,000 Gain on Sale of Investments ... 6,000
Entry made:
Cash... 26,000
Equity Investments ... 26,000
Correction:
Equity Investments ... 6,000 Gain on Sale of Investments ... 6,000
(b) Taber—should record cash dividend as dividend income.
Correct entry:
Cash... 24,000
Dividend Revenue ... 24,000
Entry made:
Cash... 24,000
Equity Investments ... 24,000
Correction:
Equity Investments ... 24,000
Dividend Revenue ... 24,000 (To properly record dividends under fair value
method)
(2) Valuation at End of Year:
Increase
Quantity Cost Fair Value (Decrease) Harmon 4,000 shares $ 200,000 $296,000 $ 96,000 Taber 20,000 shares 800,000 660,000 (140,000)
$1,000,000 $956,000 $( 44,000)
Year-end Adjustment:
Unrealized Holding Gain or Loss—Equity... 44,000
Fair Value Adjustment (available-for-sale) ... 44,000
*Pr. 17-132—Derivative financial instrument.
Hummel Co. purchased a put option on Olney common shares on July 7, 2012, for $100. The put option is for 200 shares, and the strike price is $30. The option expires on January 31, 2013. The following data are available with respect to the put option:
Date Market Price of Olney Shares Time Value of Put Option
September 30, 2012 $32 per share $55
December 31, 2012 $31 per share 21
January 31, 2013 $33 per share 0
Instructions
Prepare the journal entries for Hummel Co. for the following dates:
(a) July 7, 2012—Investment in put option on Olney shares.
(b) September 30, 2012— Hummel prepares financial statements.
(c) December 31, 2012— Hummel prepares financial statements.
(d) January 31, 2013—Put option expires.
*Solution 17-132
July 7, 2012
(a) Put Option... 100
Cash ... 100
September 30, 2012
(b) Unrealized Holding Gain or Loss—Income ... 45
Put Option ($100 – $55) ... 45
December 31, 2012
(c) Unrealized Holding Gain or Loss—Income ... 34
Put Option ($55 – $21) ... 34
January 31, 2013
(d) Loss on Settlement of Put Option... 21
Put Option ($21 – $0) ... 21
*Pr. 17-133—Free-standing derivative.
Welch Co. purchased a put option on Reese common shares on January 7, 2013, for $215. The put option is for 300 shares, and the strike price is $51. The option expires on July 31, 2013. The following data are available with respect to the put option:
Date Market Price of Reese Shares Time Value of Put Option
March 31, 2013 $47 per share $120
June 30, 2013 $50 per share 56
July 6, 2013 $46 per share 16
*Pr. 17-133 (cont.) Instructions
Prepare the journal entries for Welch Co. for the following dates:
(a) January 7, 2013—Investment in put option on Reese shares.
(c) March 31, 2013— Welch prepares financial statements.
(d) June 30, 2013— Welch prepares financial statements.
(e) July 6, 2013— Welch settles the call option on the Reese shares.
*Solution 17-133
January 7, 2013
(a) Put Option ... 215
Cash ... 215
March 31, 2013 (b) Put Option ... 1,200 Unrealized Holding Gain or Loss—Income ($4 × 300)... 1,200 Unrealized Holding Gain or Loss—Income ... 95
Put Option ($215 – $120) ... 95
June 30, 2013 (c) Unrealized Holding Gain or Loss—Income ... 900
Put Option ($3 × 300) ... 900
Unrealized Holding Gain or Loss—Income ... 64
Put Option ($120 – $56) ... 64
July 6, 2013 (d) Unrealized Holding Gain or Loss—Income ... 40
Put Option ($56 – $16) ... 40
Cash (300 × $5) ... 1,500 Gain on Settlement of Put Option... 1,184 Put Option* ... 316
*Value of Put Option settlement:
Put Option
215
1,200 95
900
64 40 316